SOTA: School of the Arts Singapore
SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition 2020 


Posted on 18 April 2019

We're glad to announce the Top Three Winners of this year's edition of the SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition. These promising writers overcame immense odds to stand out from 1,500 submissions, including the 76 finalists. Our heartiest congratulations to our young writers!

First Place: Alifah Ilyana Binte Mohammed Jawahir (Sembawang Primary School)
Second Place: Lim En Qi (Keming Primary School)
Third Place: Aisha Tang Binte Muhammed Taufiq Tang (CHIJ Our Lady of Queen of Peace)

Once again, thank you to those who participated! We would like to thank SPH Foundation for sponsoring the book vouchers that will be received by our winners.


Posted on 19 March 2019

Thank you for your participation in the SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition 2019. We received a whopping 1,500 submissions from all of you promising young writers!

Due to the overwhelming response, we decided to increase the number of finalists from 50 to 76. These 76 finalists will be invited to SOTA for the Junior Academy workshop*, and the top three winners of the Competition will be picked from these finalists. The finalists are named below, in alphabetical order according to school.

We once again sincerely thank all participants for being involved in this Competition!

Name School
Ana Bella Kaisah Binte Mohammed Hisham Admiralty Primary School
Wu Wan Ying, Dorine Admiralty Primary School
Lim Jing Xuan Ai Tong School
Teoh Yu Xi Bukit Panjang Primary School
Ong Le Qian Bukit View Primary School
Aisha Tang Binte Muhammed Taufiq Tang CHIJ Our Lady Queen of Peace
Emeline Tan En Xuan CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls' School
Chan See Yu Chongzheng Primary School
Goh Yu Xuan Amber De La Salle School
Joycia Sudhir DPS International School
Keira Chan Dulwich College Singapore
Muhammad Rifay Syazwan Bin Noorhaizad Edgefield Primary School
Orkid Binte Hilmi Edgefield Primary School
Claris Teo Chen Lin Endeavour Primary School
Lim Kang Ler Farrer Park Primary School
Ang Hong-Ren Fengshan Primary School
Isaac Teh Hong Yee Fengshan Primary School
Teo Jing An Geylang Methodist School (Primary)
Lauren Sin Haig Girls' School
Yasmine Binte Zaharin Henry Park Primary School
Aidan Soon Qi Zhe Holy Innocents' Primary School
Amelia Mikaela Silvester Innova Primary School
Dhirren Viswanathan Innova Primary School
Tan Renny Innova Primary School
Yan Zesen Jurong West Primary School
Ashley Goh Zhuo En Keming Primary School
Eva Chi Ching Hsun Keming Primary School
Kim Yoonsu Keming Primary School
Lim En Qi Keming Primary School
Samuel Tan Kai Yang Keming Primary School
Nurul Iman Binte Mohammed Rohan Kheng Cheng School
Ethan Chan Jun Kai Kong Hwa School
Gerselle Koh Jia Qian Kong Hwa School
Goh Kie Ren Kong Hwa School
Ng Kean Woon Kong Hwa School
Ryan Neo Xin Yao Kong Hwa School
Sim Pei Zhi Kong Hwa School
Tan Ella Kong Hwa School
Wong Yuet Leng Cheryl Kong Hwa School
Poh Shi Ying Maha Bodhi School
Rajani Panda Marymount Convent School
Niken Toh Teng Rui Mayflower Primary School
Tan Hui Yan Mayflower Primary School
Erynn Joi Huen En Methodist Girls' School
Ong En Qi Natalie Methodist Girls' School
Ooi Pei Qi Nan Hua Primary School
Shanice Tan Haridas Nan Hua Primary School
Sheng Yichou Xavier Nan Hua Primary School
Jia Junkai Ngee Ann Primary School
Sim Kai Rui Thaddeus Ngee Ann Primary School
Zara Estrella Parveen Ngee Ann Primary School
Tay Kee En Kiera Pasir Ris Primary School
Luan Haoling Punggol Green Primary School
Kristine Chiang Yu Fung Radin Mas Primary School
Sophia Ocampo Raffles Girls' School
Yeoh Janine Red Swastika School
Koh Kai Li Kellie Rivervale Primary School
Dylan Low Shang-Jie Rosyth School
Elgin Rahardja Rosyth School
Wong Jun Yi Rosyth School
Alifah Ilyana Binte Mohammad Jawahir Sembawang Primary School
Yuvanshi Keshav Agrawal Sembawang Primary School
Alison Tay Tsin Yinn Singapore Chinese Girls' Primary School
Lim Yingkit Singapore Chinese Girls' Primary School
Chan Silin South View Primary School
Zhang Yihao South View Primary School
Richard Ong Jun Quan St. Hilda's Primary School
Tristan Josef Ngo Zheng Xuan St. Stephen's School
Ethan Koh Wei Qian Tao Nan School
Arissa Joshua Teck Ghee Primary School
Chen Ying Woodgrove Primary School
Max Myat Thu Khant Woodlands Primary School
William Li Xingnan Primary School
Lim Cheng Rui Yu Neng Primary School
Tan Han Wen Jonathan Yu Neng Primary School

* * * * *


Thank you for your participation! Finalists will be notified by early-March 2020.

* * * * *

SOTA is pleased to announce the fourth edition of its annual nation-wide creative writing competition. This year, the SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition is proudly supported by Singapore Press Holdings Foundation.


If you will be in Primary 6 in 2020 and have a love for writing, you are invited to take part in this competition.

  • Step 1: Pick one of the prompts
    1. Write a story based on the following 5 words: elephant, guitar, blue, paper, and train.
    2. The city underground.
    3. Write a story about 2 people — or other non-human characters if you prefer — from very different backgrounds sharing a meal together. What happens?
    4. You come across a door in a forest. What happens next?
  • Step 2: Write an original story, of no more than 450 words, based on the prompt you chose.
  • Step 3: Submit your story with your completed entry form.


Up to 50 finalists will be invited to a free short story writing workshop.
Of the 50 finalists, 3 students will be named the winners of the following:

  • 1st Prize: $500 book voucher
  • 2nd Prize: $350 book voucher
  • 3rd Prize: $150 book voucher

  • Submission due date: 7 February 2020, 5pm
  • Notification of finalists: Early-March 2020
  • Workshop: Half day, mid- to late-March 2020
  • Announcement of winners: April 2020

  1. The competition is ONLY open to all students who will be in Primary 6 (or its equivalent) in 2020.
  2. Each contestant may only submit ONE entry. Entries must be submitted via regular post to:
    SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition 2020,
    School of the Arts, Singapore,
    1 Zubir Said Drive,
    Administration Office, #05-01,
    Singapore 227968
  3. Entries must be typed on an A4-sized paper with font-size 12 and double-spaced. All entries MUST include the participant's (i) name, (ii) school, (iii) exact number of words and (iv) email address (either individual's or parent's) on the upper left-hand corner of the first page.
  4. ALL entries MUST be accompanied with an official entry form. Please click here to download the form.
  5. ALL entries MUST be original and written in English. The submissions must be unpublished and not accepted by any publisher or producer at the time of submission.
  6. SOTA retains the non-exclusive, perpetual, world-wide, royalty-free license (with right to sublicense) to keep and use submitted entries for any purpose consistent with the mission of SOTA, including educational, archival and research purposes, and for publicising SOTA or any programme or faculty of SOTA, including derivative works for such purposes.
  7. Entries that exceed the word count of 450 words will be disqualified and unread. Title and contact information will not be included in the word count.
  8. The submission deadline is 7 February 2020 at 5pm. Late submissions will not be accepted.
  9. Up to 50 finalists will be shortlisted by SOTA's Faculty of Literary Arts and notified by early-March. They will be invited to attend a short story writing workshop in mid- to late-March 2020. Of the 50 finalists, 3 students will be named the winners. The first, second and third place winners will win $500, $350 and $150 in book vouchers respectively.


Drop us an email at [email protected], with the subject "P6 Creative Writing Competition".

Supported by: