SOTA: School of the Arts Singapore
SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition 2022

Thank you for your interest in the SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition 2022! We received more than 1,300 submissions from all of you promising young writers.

The top three winners and top 20 commendation prize winners were decided after much careful deliberation. The winners are named below, in alphabetical order according to school. All winners were also notified via email.

Congratulations to the winners and finalists! We once again sincerely thank all participants for being involved in this Competition!

Click on the top three winners' names to read their submissions!

1st RaeAnne Tse Methodist Girls' Primary School
2nd Lucas Wang Hao Bo Nanyang Primary School
3rd Annaleigh Eve Ng Raffles Girls' Primary School
TOP 20 FINALISTS (in alphabetical order by school)
Elliot Shan Murray Wigmore Alexandra Primary School
Toh Yu Syn Alexandra Primary School
Aristeides Tay Jia Kai Bukit View Primary School
Leia Mesya Yeo CHIJ Our Lady of Good Counsel
Lim Dahee CHIJ Our Lady Of The Nativity
Ng Si Hui Endeavour Primary School
Nur Mischa Filastin Bte Mohd Faizal Haig Girls' School
Emma Maria Tan Ee Wei Henry Park Primary School
Magdalene Lin Minhui Jing Shan Primary School
Jacelyn Koh Qian Hui Nanyang Primary School
Chew Cheng-En Daniel Nanyang Primary School
Reuben Loh Wei Hong Pasir Ris Primary School
Reina Alexis Lim Paya Lebar Methodist Girls' School
Koh Shi Heng Ethan Poi Ching School
Aerin Tei Raffles Girls' Primary School
Andrea Noemie Kai Xuan Pouilly Rosyth School
Vidya Yeo Yun En Rosyth School
Janelle Ng Sze Yarn Singapore Chinese Girls' School
Goh Li Lynn Singapore Chinese Girls' School
Xie Qingyang Tanjong Katong Primary School
TOP 50 FINALISTS (in alphabetical order by school)
Olivia Nicole Padawangi Anchor Green Primary School
Le Hong Thien Kim Boon Lay Garden Primary School
Jeevan Kumar Nitish Bukit View Primary School
Madison Rachel Defries CHIJ Katong
Arielle Ezekiel CHIJ Katong Covent (Primary) School
Maegan Tan Xin Min CHIJ Kellock
Amolika Menon CHIJ Our Lady Queen of Peace
Kwek Kai-Yan, Zoe CHIJ Primary Toa Payoh
Xing Peach East Spring Primary School
Lai Si Ning Endeavour Primary School
Ella Loo Yunfei Paya Lebar Methodist Girls' School
Kyra Chng Kai Yah Keming Primary School
Roanne Wong Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Primary School
Rutkevych Nikolai Nan Hua Primary School
Chan Luo Yi Talise Nan Hua Primary School
Goh Si Han Hannah Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary School
Lim Kang Yu Queenstown Primary School
Lim Lee-ann Raffles Girls' Primary School
Koo Yun Ye Raffles' Girls Primary School
Chaganti Nitya Elalakshmi Pranava Hasini Sembawang Primary School
Tan Ler Yee Sembawang Primary School
Sara-Therese Foo Singapore Chinese Girls' School (Primary)
Sim Yun Xin Cheryl Singapore Chinese Girls' School (Primary)
Naydeen Ashaa Sivasangkar St. Joseph's Institution International
Skylar Phua Le St. Margaret's Primary School
Liew Zi-Han Chloe St. Margaret's Primary School
Tan Qiao En Alyssa Temasek Primary School
  • Certificates and Book Vouchers will be mailed out to the schools of the three winners and Top 20 finalists by the end of May.
  • Certificates will be mailed out to the schools of the Top 50 finalists by the end of May.
SOTA is pleased to announce the sixth edition of its annual nation-wide creative writing competition. This year, the SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition is proudly supported by Singapore Press Holdings Foundation.

If you will be in Primary 6 in 2022 and have a love for writing, you are invited to take part in this competition.

  • Step 1: Pick one of the prompts.
    1. 'That night, the banyan tree walked away, and nothing was the same ever again.' Begin or end a story with this sentence.
    2. Write a story that takes place under the floorboards of an old house.
    3. Imagine a world where eggs are used as currency. Write a story that takes place in this world.
    4. Write a story about life on another planet.
  • Step 2: Write an original short story of no more than 450 words, based on the prompt you have chosen.
  • Step 3: Submit your story via this form.
Up to 50 finalists will be invited to a free short story writing workshop.
Of the 50 finalists, 23 students will be named the winners of the following:

  • First Prize: $500 book voucher
  • Second Prize: $350 book voucher
  • Third Prize: $150 book voucher
  • 20x Commendation Awards: $50 book voucher each
  • Submission due date: 14 January 2022, 5pm
  • Notification of finalists: March 2022
  • Workshop: 26 March 2022
  • Announcement of winners: April 2022
  1. The competition is ONLY open to all students who will be in Primary 6 (or its equivalent) in 2022.
  2. Each contestant may only submit ONE entry. Entries must be submitted via this form. Please attach a .pdf document to the submission.
  3. Entries must be typewritten on A4 paper using Arial font, font size 12 and double-spaced.
  4. Entries should indicate the participant's full name, school and email address in the upper-left corner of every page. Page numbers should be included in the upper-right corner of every page.
  5. Only short stories will be accepted. Each entry should be no longer than 450 words. Type the exact word count at the end of the manuscript.
  6. All entries MUST be original and written in English. The submissions must be unpublished and not accepted by any publisher at the time of submission.
  7. The copyright of the work sits with the original writer, however, SOTA retains the non-exclusive, perpetual, world-wide, royalty-free license (with right to sublicense) to keep and use submitted entries for any purpose consistent with the mission of SOTA, including educational, archival and research purposes, and for publicising SOTA or any programme or faculty of SOTA, including derivative works for such purposes, without needing to seek prior permission from the writer.
  8. The submission deadline is 14 January 2022 (Friday) at 5pm. Late submissions will not be accepted.
  9. Finalists will be notified by March 2022. We reserve the right to not respond to emails or phone calls.
  10. Failure to adhere to the competition rules will result in disqualification.
  11. Winning entries will be selected by a panel of judges.
Supported by: