SOTA: School of the Arts Singapore
SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition 2021

The SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition 2021 received more than 1,500 submissions from primary schools across Singapore. All the works submitted were impressive and shortlisting the finalists proved to be a difficult process.

The top three winners and finalists were decided after much careful deliberation. They wrote about believable characters placed in intriguing situations, all set within unique and carefully crafted worlds.

Our sincere congratulations to the winners and finalists!

Thank you very much to all who participated in this year's SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition.

1st Lim Min Yi Kelly Raffles Girls' Primary School
2nd Kate Suzuki Kokomi Nan Hua Primary School
3rd Ng Ho Moon Aschea Henry Park Primary School
TOP 20 FINALISTS (in alphabetical order by school)
Yip Qin Ning CHIJ (Katong) Primary
Isabel Lim Rui Ting CHIJ Kellock
Jonella Hau Ryae Ying CHIJ Primary (Toa Payoh)
Kate Lee Sze Teng CHIJ Primary (Toa Payoh)
Quinn Puar Min CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls' School
Farah Binte Khairuman Fuchun Primary School
Emma Lee Shyuan En Haig Girls' School
Lai Yu Lok Kendrick Holy Innocents' Primary School
Isaac Koey Jien Foong Holy Innocents' Primary School
Lambreghts Kasper Yuen Kheng Cheng School
Clarisse Fong Jie Min Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Primary School
Jane Loke Methodist Girls' School (Primary)
Shannon Seng Dian Hui Paya Lebar Methodist Girls' School (Primary)
Chin Xi Elijah Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary School
Tham Yujay Qifa Primary School
Danial Ryan Bin Anuar Rosyth School
Avril Sng Ee Leng Rosyth School
Giselle Chiam Kai Ting Tao Nan School
Sim Kay Ann Tao Nan School
Xu Jiahao Matthew Teck Ghee Primary School
TOP 50 FINALISTS (in alphabetical order by school)
Nicholas Wong Hongli Alexandra Primary School
Chinnaiyan Vijayakumar Pavithran Ang Mo Kio Primary School
Feng Chenyu Boon Lay Garden Primary School
Nayla Zhafirah Hasanah Maulyadi Boon Lay Garden Primary School
Trinity Chan Rae Yee Canossa Catholic Primary School
Amir Bin Azhan Casuarina Primary School
Deirdre Tan En Jia Casuarina Primary School
Emma Grace Piper CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls' School
Vankayala Vaishnavi DPS International School
Toh Kai Hsin Charmaine Eunos Primary School
Chiow Pei Ling Evergreen Primary School
Isabel Kang Ting Xuan Henry Park Primary School
Tristan Ng Henry Park Primary School
Ajam Jeremiah Logan Keming Primary School
Jayden Ng Tian Shu Keming Primary School
Tham Zhi Yu Nan Hua Primary School
Olivia Chia Lu Xuan Paya Lebar Methodist Girls' School (Primary)
Dina Anati Binte Muhamad Raffi Poi Ching School
Loo Sixuan Chloe Radin Mas Primary School
Lim Yu Han Raffles Girls' Primary School
Dong Zhengyang Rosyth School
Harineathra D/O Venkatesan Shuqun Primary School
Talia Tan Le Xuan St. Anthony's Primary School
Anna Sophia van der Schaft St. Joseph's Institution International
Chua Enya Cayla Tao Nan School
Kay Yu Feng Tao Nan School
Kenshin Yamazaki Yio Chu Kang Primary School
  • Certificates and Book Vouchers will be mailed out to the schools of the three winners and Top 20 finalists by the end of May.
  • Certificates will be mailed out to the schools of the Top 50 finalists by the end of May.
SOTA is pleased to announce the fifth edition of its annual nation-wide creative writing competition - the SOTA Primary 6 Creative Writing Competition is back!

If you will be in Primary 6 in 2021 and have a love for writing, you are invited to take part in this competition.

  • Step 1: Pick one of the prompts.
    1. Write a story that contains the phrase, “This was clearly NOT a dream.”
    2. Write a story in which chicken rice plays a significant role.
    3. Imagine you open the door and you find a giant box with your name printed on it. What happens next?
    4. Write a story that ends with the phrase, “All he could do was give me a high-five.”
  • Step 2: Write an original story, of no more than 450 words, based on the prompt you chose.
  • Step 3: Submit your story via this form.

Up to 50 finalists will be invited to a free short story writing workshop.
Of the 50 finalists, 23 students will be named the winners of the following:

  • First Prize: $500 book voucher
  • Second Prize: $350 book voucher
  • Third Prize: $150 book voucher
  • 20x Commendation Awards: $50 book voucher each
  • Submission due date: 22 January 2021, 5pm
  • Notification of finalists: By 28 February 2021
  • Workshop: 27 March 2021
  • Announcement of winners: By the last week of April 2021
  1. The competition is ONLY open to all students who will be in Primary 6 (or its equivalent) in 2021.
  2. Each contestant may only submit ONE entry. Entries must be submitted via this form. Please attach a .pdf document to the submission.
  3. Entries must be typewritten on A4 paper, in a basic font such as Arial, font size 12, and double-spaced.
  4. Entries should indicate the participant's full name, school and email address in the upper-left corner of every page. Page numbers should be included in the upper-right corner of every page (e.g. 1 of 2).
  5. Only short stories will be accepted. Each entry should be no longer than 450 words. Type the exact word count at the end of the manuscript.
  6. ALL entries MUST be original and written in English. The submissions must be unpublished and unproduced and not accepted by any publisher or producer at the time of submission.
  7. The copyright of the work sits with the original writer, however, SOTA retains the non-exclusive, perpetual, world-wide, royalty-free license (with right to sublicense) to keep and use submitted entries for any purpose consistent with the mission of SOTA, including educational, archival and research purposes, and for publicising SOTA or any programme or faculty of SOTA, including derivative works for such purposes, without needing to seek prior permission from the writer.
  8. The submission deadline is 22 January 2021 at 5pm. Late submissions will not be accepted.
  9. Finalists will be notified by March 2021. We reserve the right to not respond to emails or phone calls.
  10. Failure to adhere to the competition rules will result in disqualification.
  11. Winning entries will be selected by a panel of judges.
Have a question? Email us at [email protected].