SOTA: School of the Arts Singapore

National Arts Council Scholarship 2017

Published on Jul 25, 2017

NAC scholarships 2017
Nur Sabrina binte Dzulkifli (back row, left), Kwok Min Min (back row, fourth from left),
Lai Yu Tong (back row, fifth from right), Samuel Phua (back row, third from right)
(Photo courtesy of National Arts Council)

Congratulations to our four alumni who have been awarded the 2017 National Arts Council (NAC) Arts Scholarship! The scholarships nurture promising individuals who wish to pursue a career in the arts and have the potential to drive development of the arts in Singapore.

The four NAC Arts Scholarship recipients from SOTA are:

Kwok Min Min, Class of 2014, Dance
Min Min is heading to Goldsmiths, University of London, to pursue Arts Management. She aspires to be an arts manager after graduation as she is keen to programme concerts and create platforms for home-grown artists to showcase their works.

Lai Yu Tong, Class of 2014, Visual Arts
Yu Tong will be pursuing Fine Arts at LASALLE College of the Arts. An aspiring multidisciplinary artist who is interested in the ideas of velocity, exhaustion and the mundane, Yu Tong hopes to continually develop his craft, and deepen his involvement in local arts institutions through programming, management and education. 

Nur Sabrina Binte Dzulkifli, Class of 2015, IBCP Theatre
Sabrina will be taking Drama and Literature at the University of Essex. Sabrina hopes to create interdisciplinary and experimental works that use different forms of expression and channels of communication to present narratives on stage.

Samuel Phua, Class of 2015, IBCP Music
Samuel will commence his studies in classical saxophone performance at the Sibelius Academy, University of the Arts Helsinki, after serving the nation. He hopes to teach the saxophone in future and to be part of interdisciplinary collaborations. Samuel also wants be a champion for home-grown contemporary classical saxophone music.

Read the official announcement HERE.

It's great to see our alumni blazing new pathways and going out to enrich society with their creativity! Congratulations to all scholarship recipients and we wish them all the best in their future endeavours!